Hey Soul Sistas

Hey Sistas,

Are you or ever been embarrassed, upset, or simply fed up with the image of women of color that is portrayed in today’s society.  Personally, I am so fed up that I  decided to start Hey Soul Sistas.  My vision was to create a movement that will change the way society sees us and most of all the way we see ourselves.  Women of color have been given many negative labels  and the sad thing about that is that many of us have become products of the negative image that society has branded us with.  The relationships between woman of color have been affected by this as well.  Personally, I want something more for myself and my sistas.  I am tired of hearing women complain about other women or say that they can not be friends with other females.  I believe that it can be different.  Women of color can be friends, there can be unity between us, and most of all we can help each other get through life.  We all know that life can be hectic and it is difficult to survive it alone, it would be wonderful to have others help us along the way.  I don’t mind sharing my experiences with another sister.  If she is going through something I already conquered it is only right to offer a helping hand.  That is what Hey Soul Sistas is about.  Sistas helping Sistas.  Isn’t that the way it’s supposed to be?  Aren’t we supposed to be supportive, loving, caring, and real with one another.  If you feel the same as I do and want to be a part of the strong sistas trying to make a difference please join me at Hey Soul Sistas.  My goal with Hey Soul Sistas is to connect women of color through common issues while educating and entertaining.  The problem that I am having is that I can not do this alone.  I need assistance from all my sistas.  I need your participation.  By commenting on our updates and blogs, taking part in our polls and forums, and answering our research questions you will have the opportunity to help, inspire, and educate other sistas.  You can encourage others through your experiences.  Just knowing that someone else has overcame the same issues can give many the hope they need to go on.  I would like to thank all of you for your support and participation this far and I thank those in advance that may choose to become more involved with Hey Soul Sistas.  If you have any questions, suggestions, or inquiries please contact me through the HSS Facebook page or email me at meka@heysoulsistas.com.

Leave a Reply

